2 October 2017

Judging panel for Belfast Telegraph Property Awards 2017 unveiled


With the Property Awards just around the corner, a panel of independent judges have the challenging task of choosing this year’s industry stars from a record number of entries.

These awards allow agencies, designers, developers, contactors and architects to showcase their hard work at the award ceremony in November.

Many distinguished individuals make up the judging panel, all of whom have been selected for their knowledge and expertise across the Northern Ireland property sector.

Chaired by Professor Alastair Adair, PVC (Development) & Provost, Ulster University, we are also delighted to have Daryl McIntosh of the National Association of Estate Agents, Derek Wilson, Chair of UK Finance NI Mortgage Committee and First Trust Bank, Arleen Elliott, NI Law Society, Padraig Venney, National House Building Council, Paul Crowe, President, Royal Society of Ulster Architects, Nicola McCrudden, Chartered Institute of Housing, and Susan Mason, Acting Regional Director, RICS.

Professor Alastair Adair is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Ulster University offering leadership in strategy and academic governance.

He has direct line management and leadership responsibility for Executive Deans and directs business performance and sustainability of the University’s faculties.

He has direct line management responsibility for the University’s Provosts also, delivering leadership in civic and societal engagement.

Professor Adair previously held the role of Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Provost of the Belfast and Jordanstown campuses, Dean of the Faculty of Art, Design and the Built Environment and Head of the School of the Built Environment at Ulster. In addition to these roles, he is also Professor of Property Investment and a researcher, with research interests encompassing the financing of infrastructure and regeneration and property market performance.

He was appointed CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List 2014 for services to Higher Education in Northern Ireland and in 2016 as a Deputy Lieutenant for the County Borough of Belfast.

Remarking on his role as chair of the judging panel, Professor Adair stated: “The Belfast Telegraph Property Awards provides a welcome opportunity to demonstrate the continuing vitality, professionalism and expertise that characterises the Northern Ireland property market.”

“I am delighted that the judging panel will be looking forward to receiving high quality entries across each of the categories in terms of their creativity, innovation, design excellence, commitment to professional service and support for both clients and the public in the future development of the market.”Professor Alastair Adair

The panel also includes Daryl McIntosh of the National Association of Estate Agents. McIntosh has vast experience in property with over 20 years experience in the sector.

At NAEA and ARLA Propertymark, Daryl has established strong relationships with policy officers at the Executive and local Government helping to ensure that future legislations are formed for the benefit of the property sector.

Nicola McCrudden is a Chartered Institute of Housing Director with responsibility for both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

Nicola has held the positions of Policy and Communications Manager with NI advice charity Housing Rights and also an Information Manager with Shelter in England.

Nicola has a comprehensive understanding of cross-tenure housing issues. She has participated in many high-profile government working groups advising on major policy developments on homelessness, repossession, financial capability and private rented sector reform.

Derek Wilson is the Head of Mortgage Strategy and Distribution with First Trust Bank and has worked in Financial Services for over 36 years. He is Chairman of UK Finance at the bank and sits on the Northern Ireland Mortgage Committee and is a Board member of the Northern Ireland Housing Executive.

Padraig Venney is Regional Director for Northern Ireland of the National House Building Council.

Padraig previously held the position of Inspection Manager for HNBC, the UK’s leading warranty and insurance provider for new homes. Padraig’s career began in 2004 as a Building Inspector for NHBC in Downpatrick, Co. Down, his home town.

Arleen Elliott is a former president of the Law Society of Northern Ireland.

Arleen is also a partner at Newry’s Elliott-Trainor Partnership where she specialises in conveyancing, family and litigation work.

She has previously served as Chair of the Family Law Committee, Contentious Committee, Client Complaints Committee, and Access to Justice Committee.

TODD Architects Managing Director Paul Crowe took on the position of President of the Royal Society of Ulster Architects (RSUA) last year, having previously served as Hon Secretary and as Convenor of the Awards Committee previously.

Paul’s goal in his present role is to make RSUA more ‘relevant’ and engaging within the wider public arena and to increase its membership, particularly amongst young architects.

TODD Architects is a multi-award-winning practice with studios in Belfast, Dublin and London. They are responsible for significant projects such as Titanic Belfast, Belfast Waterfront Conference and Exhibition Centre and the new Omagh Hospital and Primary Care Complex.

Susan Mason is the Acting Regional Director for RICS and has had a life-long interest in the built environment. Susan has worked for both management development companies and local planning services in England.

Her current role as Acting Director for RICS in Northern Ireland sees her direct the local team to ensure a surveying voice is evident in all issues affecting land, property, construction and the environment.

All entries for the Belfast Telegraph Property Awards must be received by Thursday 12th October 2017. Enter now or book your tickets here

Related Articles